Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Entry# 11: The Edge

An open blog to the future students of English 101 and 102,

      Some of you will love blogging and some of you will not love blogging as much as the other guy. My best advice, learn to love it, the end.

Good luck,
Another's Reality










No I'm just kidding, don't leave! Here's my real guide to a successful blog:

  1. Pick meaty topics. Write about things you can elaborate on with some enthusiasm and meaning. The topic doesn't need to be deep, I mean my last blog was about high-fives. Write what you are passionate about as long as it is done in a relatable way. The topic just needs to mean something to you so you can explain and share it with the world, aka the internet. Which is literally the whole world. I see you Russia and China checking out my blog.

  2. Don't be afraid to step outside of the box. This is YOUR blog if you want to take a provided topic and put a spin on it then do it. If you want to get on a soap box and talk about kittens or chemtrails do it. Talk about a topic from another person's perspective, check out Entry# 7: Back In My Day. Or relate the topic to something else you want to blog about just as long as you can tie the two topics together.

  3. Type your emotions. If the topic makes you want to laugh, cry, shout or gives you the warm fuzzies express that feeling. If you find bumps along the way of expressing your emotions through words use pictures, gifs or videos. Using the right media with the correct placement within the blog turns a blog from, “meh” to “OMG that is hilarious / terrifying / depressing / ludicrous / motivating/ exciting.”
  1. Don't write about your topic like it has been assigned. If your reader can tell you are doing this for a class they will most likely never return. I know I wouldn't, simply for the fact that it means it is a short term source of entertainment and information. No one likes to invest their time with reading a blog that will just end in eight weeks. 

  2. Presentation is everything. Plan for and place media in the blog. This can be more tedious than the actual writing. Typically after I have completed the writing portion of a blog I will spend the next 30 minutes to a hour finding media, then another hour to hour and a half placing the media. Just keep in mind the tablet and cellphone layout will be different than a computer. So don't expect the perfected layout for a pc to translate to a tablet or cellphone.
  1. Interact with your classmates. This really makes the blogging experience more fun. If someone comments on a blog reply back to them. Don't you normally respond when someone talks to you in real life? So respond online also. There is a human on the other side of that comment and we all like to be acknowledged even if it's a, “Thanks.”
  1. Schedule blogging time. Seriously make a schedule and follow it. Doing so will ensure you do not forget about the blog project. Especially if you are enrolled in the English 101 or 102 hybrid course. Time moves much faster in those courses and if you can manage and schedule your time it will save your behind.

  2. Write your free write topics ahead of time. I know that can be hard if you are in the eight week class but if you find that you have ANY free time it would be in your best interest to hammer out a blog or two. By English 102 I learned to plan my free write topics ahead of time and this helped reduce stress greatly. Also any of the blogs can be saved and not published. Which allows you to write them ahead of time and have them ready for publishing when the time is right.
  1. Entertain your audience. Don't be afraid to make jokes, unless your jokes are racist, sexist, homophobic, transphobic, really any kind of -ist or -phobic. Those jokes are not funny; they are oppressive and no one likes a racist, sexist, homophobic, transphobic jokester. Why? Because it's not funny.
  1. Inform your audience. In order to inform your audience you kinda have to do research. If you don't have facts backing up your statements then people will turn on you quickly. Also it's just really not cool to misinform people. Unless you're writing a satirical blog then you should really put a disclaimer somewhere that it's satire. Keep in mind some people will take you literal because they cannot read the emotions in your writing. If that is the case see number three in this list.
.   .   .
Well here we are, the end. I do not know if this is the end of my blogging. I have actually taken to this whole idea but I am not sure if the future will allow me to blog for leisure. It really is a great creative outlet for me. I hope those of you that followed along enjoyed my blog posts and took away something from my writings.

Until we meet again,
Mary
Another's Reality

Sunday, May 8, 2016

Entry #10: No Hand Left Behind

Some people are huggers, others are hand shakers, there are fist bumpers, and wavers but I am a high-fiver. Nothing makes me more happy than a solid high-five. I don't care who you are or if I know you at all. If you put your hand up for a high-five I will give you a high-five. Even if the indented individual does not give you a high-five. I have been left hanging and it is devastating;
ohh...
High-fiving shark
the feeling of lowering my arm casually like I never meant to give a high-five. Maybe to play it off I could pull my hair back or lift my other arm to act as if I were stretching. But everyone knows what happened. I was left hanging. The best thing to do if you find yourself in this predicament is to look around and make eye contact with someone else and make a face that says, “PFFT look at that guy walking away from my high-five,” maybe point at the person with the other hand while keeping the high-fiving hand held high. One of two things will happen people will notice you standing there like you're disgusted and wanting to ask a question as if you are in a classroom, then notify the person that left you hanging to go back for the high-five. Those high-fives are typically the best because you can look at your abandoner straight in the face and high-five them hard enough to break a blood vessel in your hand. Also you're pretty prepared at this point to give a high-five and have had enough time to rock their high-five world. OR, the other thing that could happen is the abandoner never returns and you seek out another recipient. This is the comradery high-five. A single moment
No hand left hanging
No hand left behind
 when another high-fiving comrade shows solidarity and completes the high-five because there is a secret rule among high-fivers stating we leave no one hanging. No one. This comes to another secret rule of professional high-fiving action. I was passed down this gem of a rule, or golden rule of you will, from two high-fiving champions. I was always jealous of their skills, then boom, they dropped the secret of giving the best high-five right on me. Look at the elbow while giving a high-five.
The golden rule
Seriously, try it the next time you need to re-do a high-five. Everyone has those disappointing, flat clap, half palm of the hand, just doesn't feel right kind of high-five. This will be the moment to allow the high-fiving gods to shine upon everyone as you say, “Re-do and this time look at my elbow.” The other person will immediately be confused but will obey and then magic; the
Magic gorilla and shark high-five
 perfect high-five happens. The gratification of the prefect re-do closely out weights the abandoner high-five not only because it is a perfect high-five but because you have shared the best gift of all; the guide to a perfect high-five. Remember to use this golden rule on National High Five Day on the third Tuesday in April. I know, I know I'm late on posting this to give everyone a high-five.
Big high-five to everyone reading this.

Entry #9: Sour

          I would have to say over the past 12 years it has become exceedingly difficult for me to watch television, especially the commercials. This is coming from someone who mainly watched the Super Bowl for the commercials and loved to stay up late to watch infomercials. I was infatuated with advertisements some were clever, informative, emotional, inspiring or down right hilarious. So why have I stopped enjoying those mindless activities? I began to see the ads from another perspective. I started to take notice in the derogatory manner commercials were portraying women and men. Women were being treated as objects and men were portrayed as emotionless brutes. At first I wasn't able to watch commercials then the more I paid attention to how television characters interpreted how males and females should act the more disgusted I became with the shows I used to love. It seems as if opening my eyes to the deeper messages of entertainment has placed a sour taste in my mouth. Now it is not only television but every aspect of entertainment, or any source of outside influence. These agencies have been subtly persuading how men and women should act for generations. They have been planting the ideas that men are not men if they own any of their feminine side. Also they have been saying women will never be as good as men and women really shouldn't try.

           Currently television and movies are getting better at equal representation of men and women but there is much work that needs to be done. Here are a few advertisements I have noticed (prepare yourself the sarcasm is strong in the captions):
Be like this guy, use Axe and women will suddenly forget about personal space.
If you don't drink beer and eat meat then you're not a man.
Not only is this insulting to women but it insinuates to men to just give their partner milk whenever they disagree.
Rape culture anyone? Apparently it is best served straight out of the oven.
Gender stereotyping for men at it's finest.
Yes because beauty is only measured in size 0 and 00.
I think if I were in bed with someone and they had a tail I wouldn't care if my hair was grey because I would be more concerned about getting the **** out of there.
Who drinks a protein shake during the workout? Amateur...
Yes that's a good idea marry her to have sex with her. Love has nothing to do with marriage.
What, men don't hold positions of power over women already?
Oh boy, ok. So this is a whole different level of terrible marketing. Insinuating people of color are not civilized is some serious racist hate speech. This ad also teaches people of color that their natural hair is not beautiful. It basically says only once you look as white as possible can you maybe achieve beauty.
Because when men are not hungry they can't possibly control their sexual urges to be monogamous.
Being a woman is bad because they are whinny, don't be whinny, don't be a woman.
Oh! Just what I was thinking, a human coffee table! She would look great in the living room.
I'm pretty sure every human turns into a child when they don't feel well. Also what's wrong with him eating pizza while sick? Maybe that makes him feel better. Maybe he hates the smell of Vicks like I hate this ad.
I literally yelled curse words when I read this ad. You know what causes rape???? RAPISTS!!!! Not alcohol, not clothes, not being "flirty" and surely not being unconscious. Men have control over their sexual urges and should not be told they cannot control themselves.
Be like this guy and Hugh sleep with everyone but only if you look like this guy.
  
He is using wwaaayyyy too much soap.


         So the next time you are flipping through the channels on the TV or pages of a magazine take a look at those ads. Not a glance but a good long look and analyze what the company is literally saying. Things that seem harmless are not, these messages damage us all.






















Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Entry #8: 35

          I get it pronouns can be hard at times. We as a society love to place people into boxes, neat, simple, pretty boxes. English teaches us to do this, so we naturally assign people gender pronouns based on what we see. The problem is currently people do not just base the pronoun they use on vision but on what the other person sounds like. Then if their senses fail them and they still do not know what gender pronoun to use most people use the word, it. Using the pronoun it is extremely disrespectful, by doing so it allows people to think of the other person as non-human. Thinking of the other person as non-human then allows people to think they are better than the other. Today an older very beautiful trans woman dressed elegantly stopped by my work. I was happy to see her and wanted to wave but did not want to draw attention to her presence. The reason for this is because my current boss is transphobic. He enjoys making fun of people to make himself feel better, something I cannot and do not tolerate. The transaction with the patient was nearly over when he starts in with the comments. I loudly state, “I'm not listening to you.” My manager seemed to get the idea and but another employee said, “I thought he was beautiful and dressed nice.” I quietly corrected her by saying, “She.” The employee graciously said, “Oh yes I'm sorry I meant she.” Then that's when my manager, without thinking, let all of his thoughts fly out of his mouth, “What was that? It was wearing a dress.” I just kept correcting him louder and louder, “She, she, SHE, SHE!” I had nearly started to yell in order to speak over him when I turned toward him and said, “You are talking about a person not an object! Don't use it, use she!” And just as quickly as the outburst started, it was over.
      
          I am not sharing this story to vent. I am hoping this story encourages everyone to speak out, even to your boss, when anyone is being discriminated against. Everyone deserves to live how they chose without being attacked verbally or physically. 21 trans women were killed in 2015 and five months into 2016 the murder total is at 10 trans women and one trans man. Kandis Capri, 35, was one victim in 2015, she lived in Phoenix, Arizona. She was only 35 years old and was shot to death for being trans, shot for living in her truth. Imagine living your whole life in a body that did not reflect how you felt inside. You finally get up enough courage to tell your parents how you feel and are disowned for being different. No one treats you like a human, they treat you as if you are disfigured or infected with a contagious disease. You cannot find work because no one will hire you, and you surely cannot rent a place to stay without a job. You are homeless and alone with no help in sight. Because you are exposed to people 24/7 you become a target for hate. Strangers yell obscenities at you and you are under constant threat of physical violence. All because people have placed you in a neat, simple, pretty box that tells them they are better than you, more human than you. This is the reality most transgender people face on a daily basis. Kandis Capri lived to be 35, that is the average life span of a trans woman. 35 years old. How many years would you have left in your life?

Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Entry #7 Back In My Day

Story time
Com'on kids gather 'round so I can tell ya a story. Let me just grab my readers on the side table here so I can see what I'ma readin'. Oh, that's right a story about the pound sign. Now if most of you youngins didn't know, the pound sign is the bottom right button on your telephone.

See it there? The pound sign...
Not one of those confounded cellular phone gadgets. The pound sign back in my day told automated telephone computers that I had finished inputtin' the information it requested to send me to the right directory. So when I was callin' Moviefone that little automated man knew what movie I was wantin' to see. I can still hear his voice, “Hello and welcome to Moviefone!” Times were a simple back then. Now those new aged internet programs have appropriated the pound sign and everyone is callin' it a hashtag. Don't get me wrong youngsters I'ma quick old lady and have used this new discovery of the pound sign for a few social media programs. I especially liked how it puts everythin' I post into a Dewey Decimal like system. Who knew the pound sign could organize internet files into
Yes I used this to look where books were located in my library.
 specific categories! Ya'll know how I like everything to be organized, everything has a place and likes to be in its home. Speaking of organized, many of those new social media movements were first organized by creatin' hashtags that people could look into to get information about the action. The first occurrence of this type of internet activism has been noted since the late 90's but the most recognized and successful was the Arab Spring in 2010. Then shortly after that the US created the Occupy Wall Street movement in 2011 that started out by hashtags and word of mouth. Since then creatin' political movements by hashtag is so common there is a new hashtag everyday, and my old mind is havin' trouble keepin' up.

 From #BlackLivesMatter, #SayHerName, #ICantBreathe, #YesAllWomen, #IdleNoMore, #FreeTheNipple, #OscarsSoWhite, #RapeCultureIsWhen, #OPKK, #HoodsOff, #MarriageEquality, #RefugeesWelcome, and so many more. Comin' from an ol' fogey this new hashtag business with activism can be a stupendous way to spread the word lickety-split. Just remember security culture kids, if any little ol' lady like myself can find your hashtag so can the authorities. Be mindful of the revolution you start online and the information shared through the internet. No one is free when others are oppressed.

Monday, April 18, 2016

Entry #6½: Capitalism: An Abusive Relationship

For years now I have been refusing to watch Michael Moore's movie, Capitalism: A Love Story not because I don't agree with him. Because I am a true Anti-Capitalist. Capitalism exploits the worker in every way possible. It basically says the boss is going to pay you less and expect more productivity because you are replaceable. The boss capitalizes on your hard work, from the sweat off your brow the boss will gain a dime. I work for a company that is the eighth largest retailer in the US and it's annual revenue was $58 billion in 
True story.
2014. The company gained $58 BILLION. Meanwhile I live paycheck to paycheck and cannot afford to live by myself.
The saddest part of this is that I am a success story in capitalism.
 I have what is considered to be a decent job, a nice car, a dog and cat I can feed as well as feeding myself and a roof over our head. There are single mothers working three part time jobs that cannot afford what I have. People who have worked their whole life are now unemployed and are kicked out of their homes to live on the street. All for the sake of capitalism, all because a few people feel like they need all of the money in the world. Yes Michael Moore fits under that millionaire umbrella now but here's the difference between him and the CEO of a multinational corporation, he never exploited workers to get where he is now. Capitalism is exploitation of every possible resource. Whether that resource be factory farms exploiting the land and animals, water bottling plants bottling every drop possible taking that water from communities, farms employing undocumented workers to pay them less, companies in the US laying off higher paid workers to employ less experienced workers for less pay or never increase the minimum wage. If minimum wage is increased all other wages will increase.
All workers lose if they look at wage as a form of competition or this job is more important than flipping burgers. We are ALL underpaid and over worked. If only everyone could see this maybe then we could organize to create a world where everyone lives a comfortable life. A life where everyone has a bed and no one goes hungry. People can afford healthy food and are able to get proper medical care without thinking, “How am I going to pay for this doctor visit?” The over worked will only have to work one job instead of many. Those same people will be able to take a real vacation instead of working 40 plus hours for 52 weeks straight. Oh what a wonderful life that would be, I only hope to be alive to see it happen.

Sunday, April 17, 2016

Entry #6 : Pets are Family

My neighbors are great but they have a dog. A dog they don't look after. Everyone has this neighbor in their community. It doesn't matter what breed of dog there is always one that mostly lives outside. It makes me wonder why have the responsibility of a pet if you are not going to take care of it. As a child I did not understand how much a pet depends on its' family. Not only must basic needs be met like food and water but the animal needs a pack, especially dogs. Dogs are much like humans and thrive in social situations. They need to be nurtured and cared for emotionally. They need to feel like
 they are a part of the family dynamic or that the family is a part of their pack. Dogs that don't have this element in their life can be aggressive or acquire bad behavior. Some dogs will try to dominate members of the family or mark their territory in the house if they feel there is no alpha. This in return makes the family push the dog farther away resulting in a cycle of disownment on both sides. Except the dog is the only one to suffer. A social animal left alone with no emotional support; a life of solitary confinement. This happens all the time, on every block, in every city, neglected family pets. How could we as a society have gotten the idea that pets
are disposable objects? Pets have emotions and remember our faces and voices. They are beings that deserve happy and loving lives. Pet are companions not property would you equate your dog to your bedroom set? Or
would you punish your child that misbehaves by making them sleep outside? Would you feed your child once a day and leave a continuously dirty glass of water out for them to drink? If parents did those things to their children they would be thrown in jail for child neglect. If you have a pet look at him or her, give them a big hug and a good pet down. They deserve it.